Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: New builder?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:03 pm 

Hey oh! I have seriously been thinking about building some of my own puzzles, this forum has been truly inspirational! I started checking into some products and was wondering if you are familiar or if anybody U.S. related know of any good places to get chemicals and all that jazz.
I haven't bought anything yet, and being a struggling college student I want to make sure i get the right stuff. I went to my nearest craft store and here is what i found.
For molds i found a product called Paratol 706-G. It seemed to be ok. It said it could be a layer building mold or a pourable mold.
Then I found some casting resin with the catylist, is this the stuff i want? Will it work, or at least do a decent job?
Well, please let me know if these products are anything useful, any tips of the trade would be greatly appreciated. Thanks much!!!
Jake

Post subject: Re: New builder?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:50 pm 

Casting resin that uses a catalyst is polyester. It's pretty toxic stuff so make sure you don't breathe it in and don't expose your eyes to any potential vapors. Its advantage is low cost. It will do what you want if it has the required hardness. I think polyesters tend to cure hard but are somewhat brittle. It seems that polyester is better suited as a liquid filler for puzzle pieces you are planning on cutting down.

Polyurethane is much nicer to your health to work with but its disadvantage is that you need exact ratios for proper mixes.

For making molds I used Synair S333 which requires a releasing agent for use with polyurethane molds. Chances are wherever you buy the molding from will also point you to the right releasing agent.