Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: New here and HELP! lol
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:52 am 

So - I'm new to speedcubing! I'm from Canada, I'm 25, and I've been doing it for about 3 months using the Fridrich method, and 3 look LL (instead of 2 look, haven't been bothered to learn all the OLL's yet) I'm not doing to badly - my fastest time is 33.28 seconds, and my fastest average is around 45 seconds (I haven't really been keeping track, but 44.xx sounds about right)

Anyway, I don't have a problem with speedcubing so much - I actually have a few very nice cubes as well.

My issue is this: I have a DIY cube (my main speedcube with cubesmith tiles *grin*), an asian cube (white/blue instead of the usual white/yellow) and a 25th anne cube. (I have several other cubes as well including 2 4x4x4 rubik's, a 5x5x5 rubik's and a Eastsheen 5x5x5 (all tiled from cubesmith)

Anyway - My issue - I want to replace the rivets with screws as the 25th Anne cube actually is becoming a decent speedcube, but I need to loosen it just a little bit. I have *NO* way of doing this that I'm aware of (I've tried pliers, no beans)

Also my OTHER question: does anyone know where I could purchase a 6x6x6 olympic cube or a 7x7x7 cube? I've contacted/e-mailed the guy that makes those olympic cubes, but I just got a very generic reply - I *WANT* one sooooo bad lol

Thanks for reading!!!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 12:52 pm 

1) sub 45 average in 3 months? Wow. I'd like to congraduate you. It took me 8-9 months to get there. I'm just over 12 months right now and I'm only at 35 average.

2) I don't think it's possibly to replace the rivets. Sorry. But I'm using a 25th aniversary cube too, and I've found light sanding on the inner surfaces helps a bunch. And lubricating it too.