Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 3:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: master pyramorphix parity?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:00 pm 

Just a quick question really,

I have an old master pyramorphix. I got it because an ebay site sent the wrong puzzle. The stickers were falling off before I even unpacked it, and I already had a Mefferts one, so I just threw it in the back of the cupboard. Today I got it out for the hell of it and it presented me with an interesting problem. Can someone explain what is going on here? Is it a similar situation to the Void Cube parity?

Thanks,
Burgo.

Attachments:
master-pyramorphix.gif
master-pyramorphix.gif [ 31.74 KiB | Viewed 2360 times ]

PB 3x3 55sec Jan 2011 (When I was a kid 1:30 was speedcubing so I'm stoked).
1st 3x3 Earth (nemesis) solve Jan 2011 My You Tube (Now has ALLCrazy 3X3 Planets with Reduction)

Post subject: Re: master pyramorphix parity?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:02 pm 

I belive this is just a situation in which the true center piece of the 3x3 has been rotated either 90, 180, or 270 degrees. There are a few different algorithms to solve it from here, but basically it is like solving a picture cube - not only do you have to get the corners and edges solved, but you have to solve the centers to where they point a certian way as well. Hope it helps.

Chris

John F. Kennedy said: "We choose to go to the Moon in this decade and do other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard." One of those other things may have been building the 17x17x17.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:35 pm