Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Your Computer
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:09 pm
Location: Bay Area(925), CA
What are your computer's specifications?
Ill start with mine

ASRock 775Dual-880Pro Socket T
3.8 GHz Overclocked Pentium D 805
2 gigs kingston ram
Sapphire Radeon X1600XT 256MB
160 gig Samsung HD x2 RAID 0
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
CD-RW/DVD drive x2
550w Power Supply (with this much of extreme overclocking you need this much power)

Ok so this is a budget gamer's pc. Not very fancy and costing me only 800 dollars it was a great build for me. I had a better computer but I had an issue with my water cooler system and it blew up in my system..:( good bye 4 grand..

_________________
im back....after 18 months :X...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 4:08 am
iMac G5 17", 2 gigs of ram, maxtor 200GB external HD

simply awesome.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2000 2:51 am
Location: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
I'm not going to post mine because it is not made yet. If you ask I'll tell you whats all on it.

Imac vs Samsung? vs Dell(me)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2001 6:14 am
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Main box is a two year old system.

p4 3.0ghz
1GB RAM
about half a terabyte of storage
6600GT

Laptop is about a year old now

centrino 1.87ghz
515mb ram
mediocre vid card


It's adequate for my very casual gaming needs.

The last Time I really bothered overclocking was using the "lead pencil" trick with an AMD Duron to bump it from 600mhz to 850mhz. (circa 2000)

Before then it was a Celeron 300A OC'd to 450mhz. (circa 1998)

Before that it was a P200MMX to 225MMX. (circa 1996)

Before that I had to desolder a clock chip from a motherboard to bump up a 386DX25 to a 386DX33. (circa stone age)

There might be a small handful of hardcore overclockers that can beat that on this forum, but until then I think I have the crown of "been there, done that."

:wink:

_________________
http://chrono.org/puzzles.html
http://www.youtube.com/nechronius


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:09 pm
Location: Bay Area(925), CA
Jin H Kim wrote:
Main box is a two year old system.

p4 3.0ghz
1GB RAM
about half a terabyte of storage
6600GT

Laptop is about a year old now

centrino 1.87ghz
515mb ram
mediocre vid card


It's adequate for my very casual gaming needs.

The last Time I really bothered overclocking was using the "lead pencil" trick with an AMD Duron to bump it from 600mhz to 850mhz. (circa 2000)

Before then it was a Celeron 300A OC'd to 450mhz. (circa 1998)

Before that it was a P200MMX to 225MMX. (circa 1996)

Before that I had to desolder a clock chip from a motherboard to bump up a 386DX25 to a 386DX33. (circa stone age)

There might be a small handful of hardcore overclockers that can beat that on this forum, but until then I think I have the crown of "been there, done that."

:wink:


haha wow I must bow to you on that.. Well being a new age ocer(im only 17 :)) its all softmoding..It can all be turned back and I only use software to oc my pherifials for now. but you must agree a pentium d 2.66GHz to a 3.88GHz that beats a p4 ee 3.2GHz easy is a feat that is preety cool :) preety much saved about 900 dollars from buying a low end processor and upgrading to a high end all to a few clicks of a mouse.

_________________
im back....after 18 months :X...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2000 8:50 am
Location: chicago, IL area U.S.A
Does anyone have any good recomendations for new MB's/processors/ram/tv-video cards?
My system is starting to show it's age. ECS K7S5A AMD Athlon 1.2ghz 512 DDR not sure on the speed of the Ram.
I'd like something upgradable in the future
thanks

-d


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:09 pm
Location: Bay Area(925), CA
you can start buying the dual core processors and mobos from intel if you like but theres always the x2, fx, and 64 series that are very good from AMD.

It all depends on what is your price range. My rig was a new age cheap gaming rig because I couldnt afford a fx-55.

_________________
im back....after 18 months :X...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Your Computer
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:40 pm
Location: Marske-By-The-Sea, UK
Seunghoon Yi wrote:
What are your computer's specifications?
Ill start with mine

ASRock 775Dual-880Pro Socket T
3.8 GHz Overclocked Pentium D 805
2 gigs kingston ram
Sapphire Radeon X1600XT 256MB
160 gig Samsung HD x2 RAID 0
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
CD-RW/DVD drive x2
550w Power Supply (with this much of extreme overclocking you need this much power)

Ok so this is a budget gamer's pc. Not very fancy and costing me only 800 dollars it was a great build for me. I had a better computer but I had an issue with my water cooler system and it blew up in my system..:( good bye 4 grand..

a budget gamer's rig? :P

mine is

AMD Athlon 3300+
512MB RAM
NVidia GeForce 5200FX
70 Gigs HDD
DVD RW,

£300 pound, and i'm the gaming sort

_________________
List of Speedcubing methods
Speedcubing tutorial

@.=split(//,"J huhesartc kPaeenrro,lt");do{print$.[$_];$_=($_+3)%25;}while($_!=0);


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles
My base rig is
P4 2.4Gig (sorry, no OC)
1 Gig PC3200 RAM
nVidia 5600
120 gig Hdd (tigerdirect special)

However, I like my peripherals
Dual 17in LCD monitors (sounds like overkill till you have it)
Creative Dolby 5.1 surround sound Optical (don't need a sound card for SPDIF)
Wacom Intuos 3 6x8 graphic tablet (best mouse EVER)

:D Toys :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 8:31 pm
Location: Arvada, CO
AMD Athlon 1900+ 1.6 GHz
512MB of 266 DDR
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB in a 4x AGP slot
160 Gig Maxtor partitioned in half w/8 meg cache
Memorex 16x Double Layer DVD RW
TDK VeloCD 12x cd burner (a very reliable workhorse, 5 years old!)
ATI TV Wonder VE
Dual 17" CRT's
5.1 surround

_________________
"It's like an alarm clock, WOO WOO" -Bubb Rubb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:09 pm
Location: Bay Area(925), CA
skeneegee wrote:
AMD Athlon 1900+ 1.6 GHz
512MB of 266 DDR
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB in a 4x AGP slot
160 Gig Maxtor partitioned in half w/8 meg cache
Memorex 16x Double Layer DVD RW
TDK VeloCD 12x cd burner (a very reliable workhorse, 5 years old!)
ATI TV Wonder VE
Dual 17" CRT's
5.1 surround


I just love your dual screens. :)
After I saw them i was like daamn thats going to cost me a preety penny. After buying my comp about 2 weeks ago

_________________
im back....after 18 months :X...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:29 am
Location: San Diego, California
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 2.41 GHz
1.5GB Ram Kingston PC3300
ASUS K8N SE Deluxe
Radeon ATI 9550
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2
200GB Maxtor HD (Windows)
200GB Maxtor HD (Storage)
DVD+RW
DVD Drive
19" CRT

Built over 1 year. cost = too much. i dont know the actual cost because i bought all of the parts at different times and when i had enough parts i put it together.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Columbus, OH
Athlon 4400+ 2.65GHz @ 1.55Vcore underneath a thermalright XP-120 and a delta FFB1212EHE
DFI SLI-dr (just died, getting a new one today!)
2GB Mushkin ddr500
Nvidia 7800gtx stock clocks :(
2 74gb raptors in a RAID 0 array
1 160gb 7200rpm 8mb sata maxtor
audigy 2 ZS platinum
PCP&C turbocool 510W PSU
...CMStacker case
...cd, dvd drives etc.

ok im spent.

edit: OH YEAH! samsung syncmaster 997DF woot woot.


Quote:
Does anyone have any good recomendations for new MB's/processors/ram/tv-video cards?

http://www.ocforums.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Scotland, UK
*Sigh*
Everyone used to speak english here... ;)
My computer is not very fast, not very powerful (it's got chips in it, I know that much) but it does what I need: word processing and... nope, just the word processing.

AMD Semperon 3300 (I think)
1 gig RAM
160 GB HD
graphics card of extreme crapness
don't even ask about the sound card! (bought the previous millennium)

I prefer pen and paper. Sorry.

_________________
Never let your fears stand in the way of your dreams. And If your fears are in the way, kick 'em in the nuts. That'll learn 'em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Columbus, OH
Quote:
Everyone used to speak english here...


yes, im fluent in nerd, and i dabble in geek.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 7:57 am
Location: Στο Κάστρο του Αγίου Γεωργίου
I have an Amstrad 6128 with an external 5 1/4" floppy drive.
Quite good to play Sorcery+, I am an All Time Great Sorcerer, not suitable for high speed internet :(


Attachments:
screen.png
screen.png [ 3.96 KiB | Viewed 875 times ]
screen2.png
screen2.png [ 9.3 KiB | Viewed 862 times ]
screen1.png
screen1.png [ 3.49 KiB | Viewed 863 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2001 6:14 am
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Likely many children of the 80's, my first bit of programming that I learned was

10 PRINT "HELLO WORLD"

Definitely brings back some memories.

_________________
http://chrono.org/puzzles.html
http://www.youtube.com/nechronius


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Columbus, OH
Quote:
My teacher and I never really did get along very well after that.


we've all seen similar scenarios. it's unfortunate that thinking intelligibly is discouraged. the same thing is happening to me in C++. "no, i want you to write 4 functions. and don't use arrays yet, they're too advanced" WHAT!?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 10:59 am
Location: READING, ohio
umm ive got a dell smartstep100d from 2001

its got a 997mhz pentium celeron

256mb of ram

windoze xp home edition service pack two

it currently is all messed up "mentally" i need a new copy of windows. it aint slow but its deffenently not a fast computer


yea pretty lame

---------------------------------------------

now for the fun part,

ive also got a 20 inch wide screen imac g5

built in i sight

2.0ghz duo core processors

2gbs of ram

300 gb internal harddrive and a 350 maxtor external

the built in slot load "super drive"(it does everything)

an ati graphics card with 128 mb

built in AirPort extreme and Bluetooth 2.0

_________________
:scrambled: :solved: CUBE HEAD :solved: :scramble:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 9:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Shanghai,China
IBM T43 2668 B97

S1.86G/512M/80G

_________________
[Signature deleted]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Scotland, UK
8-) @ rubik.
Check da rubik talking da street-geek! Word!
Sadly enough, I can translate it! :oops:

_________________
Never let your fears stand in the way of your dreams. And If your fears are in the way, kick 'em in the nuts. That'll learn 'em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2000 2:51 am
Location: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
So does anybody want to know whats on my computer because I got the rest of it today? If you do it mite take a while to post it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:19 pm
Darren Grewe wrote:
So does anybody want to know whats on my computer because I got the rest of it today? If you do it mite take a while to post it.


hmmm, if you are using Windows, you could always do a run DxDiag and print screen and save it as a jpg and post it ;)

_________________
http://www.rockstargames.com/V/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2000 2:51 am
Location: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
I guess I'll post what I got all with my computer after we get my computer up and running.

I'm a little depressed right now because I could've gotten 30 inch wide screen instead of I got only a 24 inch wide screen. :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Forum powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group