Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:41 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: computer help needed
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:31 pm 

As you will probably know by now I am fairly new to all this computer, email, internet malarky (unless you count programming in BASIC 20 years ago).
I have a HP Pavilion dv1066ea laptop with Windows XP, Outlook express 6, McAfee security suite 2005 and a wireless broadband connection with Wanadoo. My problem is, every time I switch on the computer I am informed of all the new email I have. The last total was 140. In actual fact however, I only had one. The others were just repeats of existing ones. they come with their original posting dates and slot into my inbox list just above the ones they are a copy of. They remain "unread" untill I look at them even though I've already veiwed the original. This is happening over and over again as I get more genuine email and as the list grows. I've scanned for viruses and checked settings but am totally baffled. I will shortly contact my ISP but until then can anyone please help?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:00 pm 

Mr. Fisher, it's possible that you have set yoru outlook express to leave a copy of your email on the mail server and somehow redownloading the same email over and over.

In Outlook Express, go to Tools -> Accounts -> click on your mail account and select the Properties button. It should bring up a separate mail account properties mini-window. Look for the Advanced tab and then look for a check in the very bottom option "Leave a copy of messages on server."

There's a possibility that there is a check in that box, which means you are leaving mail that you read on your mail server. Normally once you download an email you want it deleted from your mail server, so uncheck that box.