Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Evanston, IL
Hey moderators,

For the last few weeks, the menus on the top of the screen (the ones that say "Home", "Shop", "Forum", "Museum", etc.) have not been loading correctly. Instead of the blue menu bar, I get a simple outline that takes up most of the screen.

It seems that it is only happening in Google Chrome (Windows and Mac). (I tested it in Firefox and Safari, and it's fine there.)

I've attached a screenshot.

Just thought I might point it out.

-Eitan


Attachments:
TP Forum Loading Error.jpg
TP Forum Loading Error.jpg [ 173.33 KiB | Viewed 2543 times ]

_________________
Eitan = "EIGHT-ahn"
Buy a Radio Cube 3! Only $150 at Eitan's Shapeways Shop
Check out my video: Twisty Puzzles a la Vi



Last edited by pirsquared on Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Montana
You should edit that pic so your email isn't up publically.

I'm on Chrome and it all works fine for me, albeit a little messy on the home page.


Attachments:
screenshot.png
screenshot.png [ 425.77 KiB | Viewed 2545 times ]

_________________
Andreas Nortmann wrote:
Things like this are illegal.
If not I will pass an appropriate law.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Evanston, IL
Ender Delphiki wrote:
You should edit that pic so your email isn't up publically.
Thanks for the tip. I removed that section.

It's odd that it isn't happening for you... What's even stranger is that for the first week, it happened on only a few pages, and it was fine on others. Now, it's happening on every page.

Let's hope we can get this fixed.

-Eitan

_________________
Eitan = "EIGHT-ahn"
Buy a Radio Cube 3! Only $150 at Eitan's Shapeways Shop
Check out my video: Twisty Puzzles a la Vi



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:38 pm
That happens mainly when I use an older browser or have a particularly slow wifi connection. Not sure if that helps though...

_________________
Puzzle Photography Group
Facebook

doctor who wrote:
I don't think I can make her pose without heavy sedation. The rendering doesn't have to be perfect, it just can't look like Oskar in drag.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:43 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI. USA
Make sure that you don't have Java and/or Javascript disabled.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Evanston, IL
Can you explain to me how I do that? I'm more of a computer user than a computer programmer. :P

_________________
Eitan = "EIGHT-ahn"
Buy a Radio Cube 3! Only $150 at Eitan's Shapeways Shop
Check out my video: Twisty Puzzles a la Vi



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Montana
Wrench->Options->Under the Hood->Content Settings

_________________
Andreas Nortmann wrote:
Things like this are illegal.
If not I will pass an appropriate law.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:47 am
Location: near Utrecht, Netherlands
I'm on Chrome as well, and the menu has been giving me trouble as of lately as well.
It seems that the problem is triggered by reloading the page (ctrl + r), but after navigating to the page normally (by clicking a link) the menu behaves well. It seems that on the initial load when some JavaScript/CSS has to be loaded it isn't quite fast enough and fails to make the menu.

_________________
Tom's Shapeways Puzzle Shop - your order from my shop includes free stickers!
Tom's Puzzle Website


Buy my mass produced puzzles at Mefferts:
- 4x4x6 Cuboid for just $38
- Curvy Copter for just $18
- 3x4x5 Cuboid for just $34


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:20 pm
I always use chrome and haven't had a problem.

_________________
-Jacob Hamrick
2x2 PB: 2.36
3x3 PB: 19.89


Tony Fisher wrote:
MaCheezm0 wrote:
2nd layer using Fisher parts


I very much hope you mean Fisher Cube parts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Evanston, IL
I am pretty sure that it is exactly as Tom described it. Is there a way to make it not skip loading the JavaScript?

-Eitan

_________________
Eitan = "EIGHT-ahn"
Buy a Radio Cube 3! Only $150 at Eitan's Shapeways Shop
Check out my video: Twisty Puzzles a la Vi



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:47 am
Location: near Utrecht, Netherlands
I think that this issue may be being caused by the AdBlock Plus extension. I whitelisted twistypuzzles.com and now it's no longer happening.

_________________
Tom's Shapeways Puzzle Shop - your order from my shop includes free stickers!
Tom's Puzzle Website


Buy my mass produced puzzles at Mefferts:
- 4x4x6 Cuboid for just $38
- Curvy Copter for just $18
- 3x4x5 Cuboid for just $34


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:48 am
Definitely Adblock Plus. I just installed it, and the error occurred exactly as described.

_________________
--Noah

I don't know half of you half as well as I should like and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Evanston, IL
Yes! That did it.

Thanks Tom!

-Eitan

_________________
Eitan = "EIGHT-ahn"
Buy a Radio Cube 3! Only $150 at Eitan's Shapeways Shop
Check out my video: Twisty Puzzles a la Vi



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Menus Faulty in Google Chrome
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:27 pm
Location: California
same here, thank you tom!

_________________
Wazzaaaaaa!

I'm a youtuber =D

hey look ^

Rest In Peace Frank


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Forum powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group