Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Higher order v. Mechanism
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:32 pm 

Hey everbody,

Since this is my first post in the forum I'll include a brief introduction. I'm a student at the University at Buffalo, I started solving Rubik's cubes about a year ago after my roommate showed me the beginner's method, and later started collecting puzzles after my Dad gave me his Master Cube and Missing Link that had been collecting dust in our basement since the mid-eighties.

I was wondering what your opinions would be regarding collecting. Is it more fun to collect higher order puzzles, or to expand your collection with different mechanisms that involve different solution strategies? (i.e., should I next look for a Gigaminx or a Pyraminx Crystal).

Thanks for your input! :solved:

Post subject: Re: Higher order v. Mechanism
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:53 pm 

I'm a bit biasied towards the new mechanisms myself (doesn't stop me from owning a v7 though ;))

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:55 pm 

i have been cubing for about a year and a half, and the first 8 or so months was just obtaining and solving higher order cubes, now i want to try different mechanism to have new fun solving experiences, as well as trying out those new puzzles higer orders, which are a fair bit more difficult to obtain.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:34 pm 

I'm more into getting puzzles with different mechanisms, but I will get a similar mechanism/higher order if the puzzle looks interesting(Ball.B - Flags for example).

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:44 pm