Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Newbie to this forum but not to the Cube
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2002 4:01 am 

I guess I should begin by telling you my story but first I have to ask this: does anyone know where I could get a replacement orange tile for my Rubik's Cube Deluxe? I asked Mark Longridge but he did not have one, so I figured someone here might be able to help me.

You can see my Cubes here: http://home.infi.net/~mamsam/Rubik.html

Now, my brief story. My father (now deceased) worked for Ideal Toy Corporation at their manufacturing facility in Newark, New Jersey, way back when Rubik's Cube was popular. He was an Industrial Engineer by trade and at that time he was the Chief of the Industrial Engineering Department. The Deluxe & Revenge you see at my web page, were brought home by him many months before Ideal actually marketed those models. I also have a Rubik's Calendar but I have to take better pictures of it, then I will put them up on the page. These are the only "surviving" models I have. I also had pre-production Standard and Pocked Cubes but I . . . umm . . . lost them, (very big sigh). I'm sorry, but I don't recall the color scheme of that early Standard Cube. My guess, and this is just a guess, is that the Cubes made in Newark, were blue opposite white, yellow opposite green and red opposite orange. I'm not sure how dogmatic they were about that but I did notice a slight difference between my Deluxe and Revenge. The "opposite" colors are the same but when I hold my Deluxe with white in front and red on top, yellow is on the left and green on the right, but my Revenge with white in front and red on top, green is on the left and yellow is on the right. The left/right color difference may be more common then the opposite color difference. One further note, the first run of the Pocket Cubes